Skip to main content
Untitled design (25)


An Afternoon with Grieg



In conjunction with the Museum's current exhibition From Dawn to Dusk: Nordic Art from Sweden’s NationalmuseumNorwegian violinist Idunn Lohne and Seattle-based cellist Christine Lee join other acclaimed chamber musicians as they perform selections from composer Edvard Grieg. Additional composers represented in this free concert include Astor Piazzolla and Antonín Dvorák. See below for the full program and musician bios.

Concert Program: 

Antonín Dvorák: String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96, "The American"

I. Allegro ma non troppo

II. Lento

III. Molto vivace

IV. Finale: vivace ma non troppo

Violins: Maya Cohon, Idunn Lohne

Viola: Alexander Grimes

Cello: Christine Lee

Astor Piazzolla: Three Tangos

I. S.V.P.

II. Tzigane Tango

III. Prepárense

Violin: Idunn Lohne

Cello: Christine Lee


Edvard Grieg: String Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 27

I. Un poco andante - Allegro molto ed agitato

II. Romanze: Andantino

III. Intermezzo: Allegro molto marcato - Più vivo e scherzando

IV: Lento - Presto al saltarello

Violins: Idunn Lohne, Maya Cohon

Viola: Alexander Grimes

Cello: Christine Lee

Please note: although this Concert is free to the public, tickets do not include admission to Museum galleries or exhibitions; these may be purchased separately on the Museum Admission page.