Skip to main content

Eric Nelson Joins Selection Committee for Queen Silvia Award


Written December 10, 2020


This year, the University of Washington School of Nursing was selected to be the Swedish Care International’s first academic partner in the United States to bestow the Queen Silvia Nursing Award for dementia care and research.

Created in honor of Her Majesty Queen Silvia of Sweden, the award recognizes her long interest in and support of dementia nursing. Applications for this year’s award must include an idea or solution addressing COVID-19 challenges in the health care environment. Special consideration will be given to submissions that focus on the well-being of elderly and those living with dementia.

“It is an honor to help serve on this committee,” said Nelson. “At the Museum, we have had a long partnership with the University of Washington, working with them to produce many events at the Museum. We’re delighted to support their School of Nursing and bring attention to the excellence of the program in providing the next generation of caregivers.”
Queen Silvia on the way into the castle church at the Royal Palace in Stockholm in connection with the wedding between Princess Madeleine and Christopher O'Neill on June 8, 2013. Photo CC 3.0 by Frankie Fouganthin.

The launch of the University of Washington Queen Silvia Nursing Award (UWQSNA) in the US in 2020 will coincide with the World Health Organization’s celebration of the International Year of the Nurse and the Midwife, a global recognition of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Florence Nightingale.

The recipient of the University of Washington Queen Silvia Nursing Award will receive a scholarship of 6,000 euros (about USD $6,500). Current plans call for the award to be presented personally by Queen Silvia at the Royal Palace in Stockholm next spring.

The QSNA was established in 2013 as a birthday gift for Her Majesty Queen Silvia of Sweden. This year’s award will focus on those working with dementia patients and those who addressing COVID-19 challenges in healthcare environments. The scholarship is currently awarded annually in Sweden, Finland, Poland, Germany, and Lithuania.